Loading, please wait...

A lifelong passion

I am passionate about life in all its forms. Whiling away childhood hours in the ditches of Anthonic, I observed and examined the teeming wildlife: reptiles, toads and frogs, insects and orchids… These happy hours inspired my choice of career as an engineer of forests and water resources.

Up until the end of the 1980s my father was unconsciously using farming methods strikingly close to today’s organic farming practices. Then, the ploughing of the soil was abandoned and chemical products progressively replaced the traditional copper and sulphur.

By the time I took over the running of the property in 1993, the impoverishment of the biodiversity was already stark. Since then, in order to redress the balance, I have taken many steps, such as eliminating insecticides progressively, establishing natural grassing over, and moderating the doses of chemical products.

But little by little I have gained the conviction that this is insufficient, and that only the total renunciation of chemical methods will allow a genuinely balanced environment and the return of health to our plants.

A lifelong passion

I am passionate about life in all its forms. Whiling away childhood hours in the ditches of Anthonic, I observed and examined the teeming wildlife: reptiles, toads and frogs, insects and orchids… These happy hours inspired my choice of career as an engineer of forests and water resources.

Up until the end of the 1980s my father was unconsciously using farming methods strikingly close to today’s organic farming practices. Then, the ploughing of the soil was abandoned and chemical products progressively replaced the traditional copper and sulphur.

By the time I took over the running of the property in 1993, the impoverishment of the biodiversity was already stark. Since then, in order to redress the balance, I have taken many steps, such as eliminating insecticides progressively, establishing natural grassing over, and moderating the doses of chemical products.

But little by little I have gained the conviction that this is insufficient, and that only the total renunciation of chemical methods will allow a genuinely balanced environment and the return of health to our plants.

FR | EN | DE

Chargement en cours...

Passion de toujours

Je suis passionné par le vivant sous toutes ses formes. Enfant, je passais des heures dans les fossés d’Anthonic à traquer la vie sauvage qui y fourmillait (reptiles, batraciens, insectes, orchidées etc…). Cette expérience a d’ailleurs pesé dans mon orientation vers des études d’ingénieur des eaux et forêts.

Jusqu’à la fin des années 80, mon père était, sans le savoir, dans une pratique proche de l’agriculture biologique. Puis le travail du sol a été abandonné, et les produits de traitement chimiques ont progressivement remplacé le cuivre et le soufre.

A mon arrivée à la tête de la propriété en 1993, l’appauvrissement de la biodiversité était déjà flagrant. L’abandon progressif des insecticides, la mise en place de l’enherbement naturel, la modulation des doses de produits ont été autant de mesures que j’ai prises depuis lors pour limiter ce mouvement.

Mais j’ai petit à petit acquis la certitude que cela ne suffirait pas et que seul le renoncement total aux traitements chimiques permettrait un véritable retour à l’équilibre avec notre environnement et à la pleine santé de la plante.

Passion de toujours

Je suis passionné par le vivant sous toutes ses formes. Enfant, je passais des heures dans les fossés d’Anthonic à traquer la vie sauvage qui y fourmillait (reptiles, batraciens, insectes, orchidées etc…). Cette expérience a d’ailleurs pesé dans mon orientation vers des études d’ingénieur des eaux et forêts.

Jusqu’à la fin des années 80, mon père était, sans le savoir, dans une pratique proche de l’agriculture biologique. Puis le travail du sol a été abandonné, et les produits de traitement chimiques ont progressivement remplacé le cuivre et le soufre.

A mon arrivée à la tête de la propriété en 1993, l’appauvrissement de la biodiversité était déjà flagrant. L’abandon progressif des insecticides, la mise en place de l’enherbement naturel, la modulation des doses de produits ont été autant de mesures que j’ai prises depuis lors pour limiter ce mouvement.

Mais j’ai petit à petit acquis la certitude que cela ne suffirait pas et que seul le renoncement total aux traitements chimiques permettrait un véritable retour à l’équilibre avec notre environnement et à la pleine santé de la plante.

FR | EN | DE